This website is about the 2008 edition of the school. Visit this year's edition of LASER.

LASER Summer School on Software Engineering


Concurrency and Correctness

September 7-13, 2008 - Elba Island, Italy

Tryggve Fossum (Intel)
Maurice Herlihy (Brown University)
Tony Hoare (Microsoft Research)
Bertrand Meyer (ETH Zurich, director)
Robin Milner (Cambridge University)
Peter O'Hearn (Queen Mary University of London)
Daniel A. Reed (Microsoft Research and UNC Chapel Hill)

Print the LASER 2008 poster poster



The 2008 LASER school brings together six of the best experts in the field (with Tony Hoare for a special guest lecture):

  • Tryggve Fossum Intel Fellow and Director of Microarchitecture Development, Intel Corporation
    Tryggve Fossum is an Intel Fellow, Digital Enterprise Group, and Director of Microarchitecture Development. He is the lead architect for the next generation Xeon server and Intel's advanced multiprocessing chip architecture.
    Fossum joined Intel as part of a June 2001 agreement with Compaq Computer Corporation that called for the transfer of microprocessor engineering and design expertise to Intel.
    Prior to joining Intel, Fossum held a variety of positions during 28 years of combined service to Compaq and Digital Equipment Corporation. Since 1998, he served as a Compaq Fellow and was lead architect for future versions of the Alpha microprocessor. From 1991 to 1998, Fossum led a team conducting processor and compiler technology research. Prior to this, he was a consulting engineer and helped design several VAX processors for Digital.
    Fossum received a Cand Mag degree in Science from the University of Oslo in 1968.He earned his doctorate and master's degree in mathematics from the University of Illinois in 1972 and 1970, respectively. Fossum completed a post-doctorate program at the University of Illinois in 1973.
    Fossum holds 30 patents on various aspects of computer design, including floating point, multithreading and cache organization technologies.

  • Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
    Maurice Herlihy received an A.B. degree in Mathematics from Harvard University and a Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from MIT. He has been an Assistant Professor in the Computer Science Department at Carnegie Mellon University, a member of the research staff at Digital Equipment Corporation's Cambridge (MA) Research Lab, and a consultant for Sun Microsystems. He is now a Professor of Computer Science at Brown University.
    Prof. Herlihy's research centers on practical and theoretical aspects of multiprocessor synchronization, with a focus on wait-free and lock-free synchronization. His 1991 paper "Wait-Free Synchronization" won the 2003 Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing, and he shared the 2004 Goedel Prize for his 1999 paper "The Topological Structure of Asynchronous Computation." He is a Fellow of the ACM.

  • C.A.R Hoare, Microsoft Research

  • Bertrand Meyer, ETH Zürich and Eiffel Software (director)
    Bertrand Meyer is Professor of Software Engineering at ETH Zürich and Chief Architect of Eiffel Software. His current research interests include object technology, proofs and tests of classes, object-oriented concurrency.

  • Robin Milner, Cambridge University
    Robin Milner graduated from Cambridge in 1958. After short posts he joined the University of Edinburgh in 1973, where he co-founded the Laboratory for Foundation of Computer Science in 1986. He was elected Fellow of the Royal Society in 1988, and in 1991 won the ACM's A.M. Turing Award. He joined Cambridge University in 1995, headed the Computer Laboratory there for four years, and retired in 2001. His research achievements (often joint) include: the system LCF, a model for many later systems for interactive reasoning; systems; Standard ML, an industry-scale but rigorously based programming language; the Calculus of Communicating Systems (CCS); the Pi Calculus. Currently he works on Bigraphs, a topographical model which aims to provide a theoretical foundation for mobile interactive systems.

  • Peter O'Hearn, Queen Mary University of London
    Peter O'Hearn received his PhD from Queen's University in Kingston, Candada, in 1991 and was on faculty at Syracuse University until 1996, when he moved to Queen Mary, University of London, where he is a Professor of Computer Science. Throughout the 90s, O'Hearn worked on denotational semantics of programs. Then, around the turn of the millennium, he and John Reynolds discovered Separation Logic, which addressed the 30 year-old problem of efficient reasoning about linked data structures in memory. He went on to develop a Concurrent Separation Logic, which provides a modular proof method for shared-memory concurrent programs. Recently, with a vibrant community of researchers in the southeast of England, he has been tackling the problem of automatic verification and analysis of programs' use of the heap, as well as automatic program-termination analysis. In 2007 O'Hearn received the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award for his work on semantics, logic, and program analysis.

  • Daniel A. Reed, Microsoft Research and UNC Chapel Hill
    Daniel A. Reed is Scalable and Multicore Computing Strategist at Microsoft Research. Previously, he was the Chancellor’s Eminent Professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and the Director of the Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI), which explores the interactions of computing with the sciences, arts and humanities. Dr. Reed is a member of President Bush’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST), charged with providing advice on science and technology issues and challenges to the President. He is chair of the board of directors of the Computing Research Association, which represents the major academic departments and industrial research laboratories in North America. He was previously Director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) and one of the principal investigators and chief architect for the NSF TeraGrid.


Chair of Software Engineering - ETH Zürich Last update: 22.08.2008