Manfred Broy, TU München

Manfred Broy's website

Maurice Herlihy, Brown University

Maurice Herlihy has an A.B. in Mathematics from Harvard University, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from M.I.T. He has served on the faculty of Carnegie Mellon University, on the staff of DEC Cambridge Research Lab, and is currently a professor in the Computer Science Department at Brown University. He is the recipient of the 2003 Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing, the 2004 Gödel Prize in theoretical computer science, the 2008 ISCA influential paper award, the 2012 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize, and the 2013 Wallace McDowell award. He received a 2012 Fulbright Distinguished Chair in the Natural Sciences and Engineering Lecturing Fellowship, and he is fellow of the ACM and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Maurice Herlihy's website

Jeff Kramer, Imperial College London

Jeff Kramer is Professor of Distributed Computing at Imperial College London. He was Senior Dean from 2009 to 2012, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering from 2006 to 2009, Head of the Department of Computing from 1999 to 2004, and the Director of Studies from 1990 to 1995.

His research work is primarily concerned with software engineering, especially as applied to distributed computing. In addition, his research covers behavior analysis, the use of models in requirements elaboration and architectural approaches to self organising adaptive software systems. He was a principal investigator in the various research projects that led to the development of the CONIC and DARWIN environments for distributed programming and the associated research into software architectures and their analysis. The work on the Darwin Software Architecture led to its commercial use by Philips in their new generation of consumer television products.

Jeff Kramer's website

Bertrand Meyer, ETH Zürich and Eiffel Software (director)

Bertrand Meyer is Professor of Software Engineering at ETH Zürich and Chief Architect of Eiffel Software. His current research interests include object technology, proofs and tests of classes, object-oriented concurrency.

Bertrand Meyer's Website

Jayadev Misra, University of Texas

Jayadev Misra's website

David Parnas, Middle Road Software, Inc.

Dr David Lorge Parnas has been studying industrial software development since 1969. Many of his papers have been found to have lasting value. For example, a paper written 25 years ago, based on a study of avionics software, was recently awarded a SIGSOFT IMPACT award.

Parnas has won more than 20 awards for his contributions. In 2007, Parnas was proud to share the IEEE Computer Societyʼs one-time sixtieth anniversary award with computer pioneer Professor Maurice Wilkes of Cambridge University.

Parnas received his B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University. and honorary doctorates from the ETH in Zurich (Switzerland), the Catholic University of Louvain (Belgium), the University of Italian Switzerland (Lugano), and the Technische Universität Wien (Austria). He is licensed as a Professional Engineer in Ontario.

Parnas is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC), the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE), the Gesellschaft für Informatik (GI) in Germany and the IEEE. He is a Member of the Royal Irish Academy.

Parnas is the author of more than 275 papers and reports. Many have been repeatedly republished and are considered classics. A collection of his papers can be found in: Hoffman, D.M., Weiss, D.M. (eds.), “Software Fundamentals: Collected Papers by David L. Parnas”, Addison-Wesley, 2001, 664 pgs., ISBN 0-201-70369-6,.

Dr. Parnas is Professor Emeritus at McMaster University in Hamilton Canada,and at the University of Limerick Ireland and also an Honorary Professor at Ji Lin University in China. He is President of Middle Road Software in Ottawa, Ontario.

David Parnas' website
Go to top